Scared to be alone since men burst into flat and attacked me….

cuts-banner2

A DISABLED man brutally attacked in his own home has spoken of his fear of a further attack.

Daren Oliver suffered cuts and bruises and spent a night in hospital after being pushed to the floor, punched and kicked by three or four men who burst into his Pokesdown flat.

Now he is staying with a family member because he is too afraid to be on his own.

Mr Oliver, 40, of Morley Road has had brain tumours removed and suffers with severe arthritis.

He was alone at home when he was attacked and a number of items stolen from the property on Wednesday July 1.

He told the Daily Echo: “I had the front door open because it was hot. All I can remember is that I was lying on the sofa watching TV when they burst in and gave me a hiding.

“It only lasted for about 10 or 15 seconds but I ended up face down on the floor being hit on the back of my head. I ended up with a lot of cuts and bruises.

“I used to be a bodyguard and a doorman before I became disabled but now I don’t like being here on my own.”

Police described the 6pm attack as “a violent aggravated burglary” and DC Steven Davis of Bournemouth CID said: “This was a terrifying ordeal for the victim. I would like to reassure members of the public that incidents such as this are very rare in Dorset.”

 The Policing in Dorset is exemplary, but given government cuts for how long?
24450689_BG1#CutsHaveConsequences
