When Is Drive-By Abuse In A Safer Neighbourhood The Norm?

1383236020_80.177.117.97

One  assumes that expensive gear is solely the preserve of men and women working in expensive jobs or for expensive people, but slick expensive linen suits and custom made leather italian shoes are the norm for Harrow’s thieves. Or at least one could be deluded into believing that to be the case, judging by the stories that are being told by Harrow’s law abiding citizenry.

“I was approached by my neighbours and openly asked for a percentage of my monthly salary, they asked me to put it through their letter box. When I objected they suggested they were prepared to step right up to my front door on a daily basis and demand it. When I reported these demands for money to the local police I was subjected to drive-dy abuse, and threatened and intimidated on a daily basis by these criminals as I travelled to and from work. Alongside this behaviour the neighbours enlisted the help of friends who would regularly drive by my front door, roll down their car windows and hurl abuse out of them.

3

“The family concerned (a mother, her partner and two full grown sons), intimated that they needed a large sum of money, I assumed for debts but they asserted for drug dealing. unsurprisingly I was horrified as I had never been in the business of funding drug dealers either willing or unwillingly.When I contacted the police, the family accused me of being a ‘snitch’ and then subjected me and my family to abuse over my garden fence, accompanied by the imitated sounds of a shotgun going off. When I reported all this to the safer neighbourhood team, they suggested that I might be in need of psychological counselling, as the family next door had feigned innocence when contacted by the police”.

A story such as this one would be considered extraordinary even in a neighbourhood where the lawless behaviour of gangs has become the norm, Harrow however is the home of choice to roughly three hundred millionaires. And this story is not an unusual one, it is not uncommon I am told to see well dressed thieves shopping at Marks and Spencers and lunching at the pub in the town centre, whilst their middle class counterparts are hunting for work and lunching at home. It is par for the course to find these same professional ‘Harrovian’ thieves spending the greater part of their day in betting shops, then looking to make up the short fall by robbing their neighbours, and hard working pedestrians on their way home from work.

One Harrow resident found themselves having constant visits at their locally run business, from a whole slew of thieves local to the neighbourhood. Their behaviour when they entered the shop was aggressive, intimidating and threatening. The business person in question found their behaviour to be a concern since as well as running a family business they also had a small family. However, they found an instant solution to their problems, they employed an elderly member of that criminal fraternity and thereafter the intimidating visits stopped. Now, the most sensible course of action would be to report this kind of obviously criminal incident, to the police in Harrow. But it would appear that following that course of action encourages, rather than deters, local thieves since they know that in these austere times the police will take little, if any positive action. Perhaps that is because they are leaving that up to the one thousand neighbourhood champions they have so far recruited.

Boris Police Harrow

Post script: I was witness to a wonderful bout of effective policing a couple of weeks ago, would that Teresa May re-invested the £20 million pounds she has ‘leeched’ out of the policing budget, then we’d have effective policing all year round!

Post Script to the Post Script: The businessman in question has since found that it is advisable to sell his business and move on with his young family. Apparently the need for a strong show of police force, around an ordinary shopping parade is a sign of one thing, that incidents like this all over that small neighbourhood have been allowed to go unopposed for so long, that it takes dozens of police and police cars to restore peace in such a small location.  This businessman requires a safer neighbourhood for his family so he will be moving on.

